Obey

Obey.

That was the word I chose to be my 2017 word.

Only problem is, that’s a tough word to focus on.

Obey.

As in, obey God.

My heart’s earnest desire is to follow God- to obey Him. But my flesh sometimes has other plans.

Matthew 16:24 says “Then Jesus said to his disciples, if any of you wants to be my followers, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.”

Simply put- if you want to follow me (Jesus) then put aside anything that takes you from me.

If only it was that easy….

I did great the first week or two of January. But then life hit. Life ALWAYS hits. And it was a little harder to read my Bible like I should…. To pray like I should…. To trust like I should…. To live my life like I should…

Now that it’s almost April, I am definitely tempted to put aside that word. Who needs a focus word anyway? But there was a reason I chose it and to give up would mean I was disobedient. God laid that word on my heart. Who am I to quit?

No, it may almost be April, but I’m still called to obey.

 

Leave a Reply

