Ministry Living

In the (almost) 16 years that I’ve been married to my pastor-hubby, we have moved to 8 churches. I think we’ve lived at close to 20 different addresses over that same time. There were times we moved two or three times in one town- mostly due to the fact that we were renting our home and for various reasons needed to move. Some of those moves could have been avoided had we been smarter in our early years of marriage, but some of those moves would have happened regardless.

Here I am, though, knowing that sometime in the coming days we will be moving- again. We will add another number to the church count, another number to the address count.

Some families in ministry seem to stay put forever in one location, but typically, moving is not uncommon to a pastor and his family. When God speaks, you go.

“Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?” I said, “Here I am. Send me.” Isaiah 6:8 We hear this and we answer the same way that Isaiah does. Even though it means moving away from family and friends.

18451549_1995484927341357_5501718009560263159_o

In the circle of families living in the ministry, one family is preparing to head overseas for mission work… another family is preparing to leave the south and head north for mission work. One family is staying put, but knows that it is only a matter of time before they move. In the past year or two, several of our friends have relocated. It’s just part of life. Part of what it means to be obedient to God.

Our desire is simply to be obedient to Him and to go where He sends us. While we do not know any details, there is an awareness that God is ultimately going to move us from our current church. Our plan is to stay put- ministering here- until He reveals the next step. I’m sitting here knowing that God is leading us away from our current church, but not seeing anything on the horizon. When we’ve been here before, we had options ahead of us. Potential churches would be lined up weeks in advance. But this time, nothing.

I feel my faith being tested and in the end it will be strengthened. I don’t doubt God is in control and already has things lined up. Just because I can’t see it, doesn’t mean it isn’t there. After all, that is what living by faith is really about… believing even if you can’t see. Day in and day out, all I can do is breathe the same words that Isaiah did and that Big Daddy Weave used in a song and say “here I am, Lord, send me”.

Pray for us as we seek God’s direction in our life. The fiery darts from the Devil are already being flung in our direction.

Linked up with: The Mom Blog; Soul Survival

Leave a Reply

