When God says wait…

We live in a world that is constantly on the go. Waiting hardly ever has to happen and when it does, it tends to make us frustrated!

Frustrated that we have to wait on our food to finish cooking at a “fast food” joint….

Frustrated that we have to wait for the YouTube video to load…

Frustrated that we have to wait at the doctor’s office…

Waiting=frustration.

But should it?

I’ve found myself in a new season of wait. There’s been several times I’ve waited in the ministry. Waited for the right church to call us, waited for my husband to get home after being gone ALL day doing “preacher stuff”. Waited for church members to wake up and see what’s happening. But this time, it’s personal. I’m waiting. Not on a church. Not on my husband. Not on church members. Nope, I’m waiting for God. I know what He wants and I’m willing- but there is this wait process.

So, I wait.

Yes, at times I wait and I utter the cries of frustration, but I want to grow in this season of wait. God and I- we talk- a lot. He shows me verses like Deuteronomy 33:3 “Indeed, he loves his people; all his holy ones are in his hands. They follow in his steps and accept his teaching.” and Psalm 27:14 “Wait on the Lord, be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart; wait, I say, on the Lord.” And I cling to them. I fight the battles from the Devil where he tries to convince me to be impatient, ugly, frustrated, and defeated. It’s a daily battle to wait upon the Lord. It’s a daily battle to be obedient to Him- especially when He says wait.

Instead of being frustrated, when I’m feeling impatient, I pray. I turn on praise music. I sit at the piano and play to my Lord. I talk to other people in the ministry- because they’re the only ones who TRULY “get it”. And I wait…

Are you in a season of wait? What do you do?

Linked up with: The Modest Mom Blog

Leave a Reply

